

CT River Gateway Commission
Annual Meeting Minutes – Hybrid
Meeting Thursday, October 26, 2023,
7:00 PM RiverCOG Conference Room
and via Zoom

Present: Chester: Misha Semënov-Leiva (arrived 7:07 PM); Deep River: Jerry Roberts; East Haddam: Debbie Langdon (Alternate); Haddam: Mike Farina, Erin Ortega (Alternate); Lyme: Susan Fox (Alternate); Old Lyme: Suzanne Thompson (Chair), Greg Futoma (Alternate); Old Saybrook: William Webb (Secretary), Diane Stober (Treasurer); RiverCOG North: Raul de Brigard, Alan Ponanski

**Absent: Chester:** Tom Brelsford (Alternate); **East Haddam:** Crary Brownell; **Fenwick:** Newt Brainard;

RiverCOG South: Judy Preston; CT DEEP: Kathleen Perzanowski

Staff support present: Susie Beckman (RiverCOG), Amy Huot (Clerk)

## I. Agenda

1. Call to Order: Chair Thompson called the meeting to order at 7:01 PM.

## 2. Approval of Agenda

A **motion** was made by S. Thompson, to approve the Annual Meeting Agenda.

**Voting in favor:** M. Semënov-Leiva, J. Roberts, D. Langdon, M. Farina, E. Ortega, S. Fox, S. Thompson, W. Webb, D. Stober, R. de Brigard, A. Ponanski; **Opposed:** None; **Abstaining:** None. The motion **passed** unanimously, 11-0-0.

## 3. Approval of Meeting Minutes

A **motion** was made by R. de Brigard seconded by M. Farina, to approve the October 27, 2022 Meeting Minutes.

**Voting in favor:** M. Semënov-Leiva, J. Roberts, D. Langdon, M. Farina, E. Ortega, S. Fox, S. Thompson, W. Webb, D. Stober, R. de Brigard, A. Ponanski; **Opposed:** None; **Abstaining:** None. The motion **passed** unanimously, 11-0-0.

# 4. Chairman's Report

Chair Thompson reviewed the milestones and accomplishments that the CRGC has achieved this year, noted the large statewide presence of the CRGC throughout this 50th anniversary year.

Chair Thompson asked for the following officer slate to be considered:

Chair: Ms. Suzanne Thompson; Vice Chair: Bill Webb; Secretary: Mr. Mike Farina; Treasurer, Ms. Diane Stober. Chair Thompson further informed the committees that each will elect their own Chairs. After the vote, Chair Thompson said the Commission roster will be reissued and the current Committees list will be distributed.

Chair Thompson reminded Commissioners that all are expected to serve on at least one committee. There also are current CRGC vacancies for some towns and a RiverCOG appointment, which the CRGC will be looking to fill in December and January. Committees are to schedule regular meetings, which will be noticed, as required by FOIA. Committees are free to cancel these meetings if they decide not to meet and to

CT River Gateway Commission Annual Meeting, October 26, 2023 Minutes – cont.

schedule special meetings as needed. Chair Thompson advised the committees that Ms. Beckman may participate when she needs to but is not the secretary for any committee. Chair Thompson thanked all Commission members for their hard work during the past year. Mr. de Brigard thanked Chair Thompson for her leadership and hard work.

# 5. Approval of 2024 Meeting Dates

Chair Thompson stated that hybrid meetings will continue into 2024. The meetings will be held again on the fourth Thursday of every month except November, and the first Thursday in December instead.

A motion was made by A. Ponanski, seconded by G. Futoma, to approve the 2024 CRGC Meeting Dates.

**Voting in favor:** M. Semënov-Leiva, J. Roberts, D. Langdon, M. Farina, E. Ortega, S. Fox, S. Thompson, W. Webb, D. Stober, R. de Brigard, A. Ponanski; **Opposed:** None; **Abstaining:** None. The motion **passed** unanimously, 11-0-0.

#### 6. Elections

a. Officers

A **motion** was made by A. Ponanski, seconded by J. Roberts to elect the following officers: Suzanne Thompson, Chair; Bill Webb, Vice Chair; Diane Stober, Treasurer and Mike Farina, Secretary.

**Voting in favor:** M. Semënov-Leiva, J. Roberts, D. Langdon, M. Farina, E. Ortega, S. Fox, S. Thompson, W. Webb, D. Stober, R. de Brigard, A. Ponanski; **Opposed:** None; **Abstaining:** None. The motion **passed** unanimously, 11-0-0.

A **motion** was made by G. Futoma, seconded by A. Ponanski, to make the titles of Chair and Vice Chair gender neutral, including documentation corrections as needed.

**Voting in favor:** M. Semënov-Leiva, J. Roberts, D. Langdon, M. Farina, E. Ortega, S. Fox, S. Thompson, W. Webb, D. Stober, R. de Brigard, A. Ponanski; **Opposed:** None; **Abstaining:** None. The motion **passed** unanimously, 11-0-0.

### b. Ex-Officio Member

Chair Thompson suggested a motion to make Mr. Melvin Woody an ex-officio member of the CRGC. Chair Thompson stated that that Ms. Fox has agreed to become the Lyme Commissioner and Lyme Board of Selectpersons is expected to appoint an alternate.

A **motion** was made by M. Farina, seconded by A. Ponanski, to make Mr. Melvin Woody an ex-officio member of the CRGC.

**Voting in favor:** M. Semënov-Leiva, J. Roberts, D. Langdon, M. Farina, E. Ortega, S. Fox, S. Thompson, W. Webb, D. Stober, R. de Brigard, A. Ponanski; **Opposed:** None; **Abstaining:** None. The motion **passed** unanimously, 11-0-0.

# 7. Conflict of Interest (COI) Statements

Forms were sent to all Commission members before the meeting, and should be completed, signed, and sent back to Ms. Beckman.

CT River Gateway Commission Annual Meeting, October 26, 2023 Minutes – cont.

# 8. Adjournment

A motion was made by A. Ponanski, seconded by G. Futoma to adjourn the meeting.

**Voting in favor:** M. Semënov-Leiva, J. Roberts, D. Langdon, M. Farina, E. Ortega, S. Fox, S. Thompson, W. Webb, D. Stober, R. de Brigard, A. Ponanski; **Opposed:** None; **Abstaining:** None. The motion **passed** unanimously, 11-0-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:22 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Huot, Clerk

The next regular meeting of the Gateway Commission is scheduled for Thursday, December 7, 2023, at 7:00 PM.

Minutes are posted in compliance with Connecticut's Freedom of Information Act. Please note that edits may be made to these minutes prior to their acceptance by the Commission at its next meeting. Any changes will be included within the next meeting's minutes.